Let them eat cake..and salad

This post is a twoforone, I don’t feel these recipes are substantial enough to merit their own posts so together they shall go. There’s been an unintentional theme of salads and desserts on S&M lately and although this duo just perpetuates the theme I shall endeavour to break the pattern pronto! I’m not sure how long I can keep convincing myself that one cancels out the effects of the other..

So first off, the dessert, because it’s just more important. I’ve been indulging in some Nigella-domestic-goddess action, I would happily eat every single item from that book, apart from the steak and kidney pudding. Kidneys are not for eating!

This is perhaps the simplest recipe in the entire tome, so simple it didn’t even earn itself a photo in print, namely the store-cupboard chocolate-orange cake.

You will need:

125g butter

100g dark chocolate

300g thin-cut marmalade

150g caster sugar

2 large eggs, beaten

150g self-raising flour

In a heavy bottomed pan, melt your butter and stir in the chocolate pieces. Let them soften then take off heat and stir until smooth and melted. Then add marmalade, sugar, eggs and pinch of salt. Stir it all together than beat in the flour bit by bit. The mix goes into a buttered 20cm tin, then into the oven (preheated at 180) for 50 minutes and that’s it..easy. Cool for another 10 before turning out.

I even went with Nigella’s suggestion of decorating with icing sugar stencils-a rare case of following a recipe to the letter.. This was very hastily done so excuse the slightly messy application, I didn’t have a plan in mind when I started dusting and it came out very, what I can only describe as, Love Train? No judgement please..

It was rich and delicious when eaten hot, warm and cold.. I’m looking forward to trying a raspberry jam version very soon.

For round two, my culinary aim was centred on how to eat more horseradish. My solution was probably more complicated than it could have been. In short I roasted some beetroot (oil&foil in the oven for around an hour) which I sliced and arranged on a bed of spinach and watercress, I then added some smoked mackerel and chopped up mollet-boiled egg to the middle and drizzled (glooped) a hot horseradish and natural yoghurt dressing over all of it (1:3 tablespoon ratio).

As a whole it was quite tasty, and went a lot of the way to satisfying my inexplicable horseradish cravings, I suspect something like lamb’s lettuce or similarly stronger tasting green instead of spinach would have worked better. Suggestions welcome!

5 thoughts on “Let them eat cake..and salad

  1. Nigella makes me mourn the lack of a working oven every single day. That cake looks delicious beyond words.

    (Mother attempted to cook kidneys once and it made the entire house smell ridiculous for a good week. It was horrible 😦 Obviously we never tried that again…)

    • Remind me and I’ll bring you some next time πŸ™‚ Kidney smell is the worst, Why eat something designed to filter waste?! That said, I do love me some liver.

  2. Mmm, that cake looks divine πŸ™‚ Makes me want to go and bake it straight away! The only problem being I don’t like marmalade…do you taste it? Or perhaps I could just use orange zest and juice…Anyway – yum!

Leave a Reply

