Green Chilli

This post could equally be titled ‘how not to follow a recipe: a cautionary and roundabout tale’. Green Chilli, unlike it’s Red and perhaps more well known cousin of kidney bean and con carne fame, is meant to be less saucy and more dry. This is according to Jamie Oliver at least.. still I manage to decide that I know best and tinned tomatoes are basically the same as tomatoes and water added separately. And on some level I am right. Just not in the quantity that I chose to add them. I’ve managed the subtle balance before so I knew the result I wanted but alas, this time, my chilli was simply too saucy. It was actually still really good-I love the kick from the green chilli peppers and lime juice, and the extra sauce removed the necessity of eating it with yoghurt (which I didn’t have anyway!)

You will need:

800g pork mince

2 green peppers

6 green chillies

2 onions

3 cloves of garlic

4 large red tomatoes

tsp of sage

1 lime

small bunch of mint

salt, pepper, olive oil

To serve: flour tortillas and natural yoghurt (romaine lettuce and spring onions also suggested but personally I think Jamie got a bit excited about adding more green to the dish..)

Heat olive oil on high, and cook your pork, sage and seasoning for a few minutes, stirring to break up the meat. Add your onions, peppers and chillies (roughly chopped) and your (finely sliced) garlic and fry for about 15 minutes til golden. Now add your chopped tomatoes and half a glass of water (or a small amount of tinned (!)) and let it simmer on a medium heat for 10 minutes. Heat up your tortillas and when your chilli is done cooking, add some more salt, the lime juice and chopped up mint.

The taste is a lot fresher than traditional con carne (might well start adding lime juice and mint to everything I eat this summer) but I’m sure you could also eat this version with rice (especially if you too made it a bit saucier!)

One thought on “Green Chilli

Leave a Reply

