Peanut Butter Hummus

chickpeassss

I eat a lot of hummus. I’ve dipped my way through coriander hummus, red pepper hummus, morrocan hummus, hummus with pine nuts, caramelised onion hummus and very lemony hummus. The existence of a peanut butter hummus is something that I’ve always considered the final frontier of hummus,  in fact I somewhat romanticised it as a dessert food far beyond its humble hummus disguise.. who can say why. Not so! The resulting dip was definitely still identifiable as  hummus; the peanuts both subtle and delicious.

I chose to follow Nigella’s recipe..though as always happens with food processing a haphazard balancing act of adding a little bit more of his and a little bit more of that to cancel it out soon took over.

You will need:

  • 400g chickpeas
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons of peanut butter ( I used crunchy!)
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons of  natural yoghurt
  • paprika

Drain your chickpeas, then add all your ingredients apart from the paprika and yoghurt.

Blitz them all together until you get a chunky paste:Then add the yoghurt and mix it all again.

Several peanut butter hummus recipes I looked at before attempting used water in the mix and complained about runniness but with this recipe the paste was quite thick and at this stage clogged up my processor a bit. Here you should watch the consistency and add more yoghurt and oil accordingly. Season with more salt and lemon to taste. mix again!

My food processor is miniature so it took a looot of blitzing,the kitchen sounded like a backstreet dentist, but it was worth it in the end. To serve: sprinkle with paprika and perhaps more nuts..

I found the resulting mixture to be somewhere between dip and spread-certainly a harmonious marriage of the titular characters. Peanuts and the cumin are a new and winning combination for me and I recommend it to be tried by hummus doubters and believers alike.

 

Original recipe can be found here.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Hummus

Leave a Reply

